Vegetarian Spider Found!

vegetarian spider– – A rare vegetarian spider has been found in Central America!   Most spiders are strictly predators, living on insects and other animals.  Bagheera kiplingi is about the size of a person’s pinky nail, and is a jumping spider who lives on acacia shrubs.

There are about 40,000 or so spider species, but most of the big spider textbooks (I know we all read them) almost outright claimed that there were no herbivorous spiders.–Well, they’re wrong!

Now one can envision kids furtively sweeping veggies off their dinner plates to the dog or into the potted plant, and blaming their disappearance on a herbivorous spider…

Explore posts in the same categories: animal oddities, animals, insects, rare animal

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Vegetarian Spider Found!”

  1. carycomic Says:

    When I was a little kid, my mother used the old ploy about people starving, in Africa and Asia, to try and shame me into eating my vegetables. Unfortunately, for her, that was in the early 1960’s, when they began showing public service messages, on TV, re: CARE packages to Africa and Asia.

    So, you can pretty much guess what I suggested she could do with my vegetables…and you can pretty much imagine her reaction. 😉

    • vulpesffb Says:

      With me, I got the same old line from my mother over liver, namely that people were starving in Africa. I’d then suggest sending my portion there, but of course that was talking back, which brought with it a whole new set of problems and punishments!


Leave a Reply

