Rubber Dinosaurs…

rubber dinosaurs–When I was a kid, I had a big collection of hard rubber dinosaurs which I regarded with love and veneration. They were solid and well-detailed, not like the junk dinos often sold today.  Some of the suckers were big, too, especially the one of what was then called Brontosaurus.  My mother, of course, made me keep them all in a large box, mothers being well-known for their obsessive-compulsive tendencies.  But every chance I had, I’d get my rubber dinosaurs out, and lovingly go over the fine details of each one. Then it was time to pit them against one another in elaborate battles to the death that occurred only in my head.–Ahh, the memories!  I don’t think that kids play with rubber dinosaurs as much these days…that’s a pity!   My early love for dinosaurs led me to a life-long interest in science, biology in particular.

My rubber dinosaur collection was one of my prize possessions.  I knew right where they were until one day, probably when I was in college, my mother threw them out…

…and I’ve never forgiven her!

Explore posts in the same categories: animals, extinct species, humor

6 Comments on “Rubber Dinosaurs…”

  1. Donald Mills Says:

    Let me get this straight…

    Your parents paid to send you to damned college and you’re pissed because your old mom tossed out your toy dinosaurs?

    That’s crazy talk. Still, I loved the dinos too. Had a fine collection as well.

    Thanks for the post. Call your mother. It’s time to heal!!

  2. barcelonareporter Says:

    ya Donald is right, you have to forgive your mom unless you have to take forgiveness from your mother. your mother will forgive you because the mothers heart is very vast .

  3. Carycomic Says:

    Forgive? Maybe. Forget? NEVER!

    I feel the same way about the 27 _cent_ comic books MY mom threw away when I was in sixth and seventh grade as you do about those rubber dinos.

    Now, that she’s into collecting antiques, she mentally and emotionally kicks herself over the realization of how much those back-issues would be worth, today. Nor do I try to impede that kicking.

    ;-D

  4. Carycomic Says:

    In the immortal words of Bugs Bunny: “Ain’t I a stinker.”


Leave a Reply

