The Dogman of Wisconsin

A centuries-old myth, a tall, hairy creature has been reported in Wisconsin and Michigan described as a dogman, also known as The Beast of Bray Road. A kind of American werewolf or possibly Bigfoot variant, witnesses of the Dogman have been found not to be lying under lie detector examination.  Alledged hair samples of the beast, however, have been found to be from a bear or a housecat.–Watch the Dogman on Monster Quest, the most current new episode!

Explore posts in the same categories: animals, anomalies, furry, unexplained

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

20 Comments on “The Dogman of Wisconsin”

  1. Carycomic Says:

    Well, according to SCIFI Channel, the mystery has been solved, once and for all.

    The Beast of Bray Road was actually a man-hating waitress at an Upper Midwest truckstop!

    • sureandscared Says:

      It is funny what you typed, I guarantee if you come here I will change your humorous attitude into fear.

  2. sureandscared Says:

    Wisconsin Dog Man

    My girl friend and I went out to feed deer for the hunting opener on Nov. 22, 2008. We where in the Chequamegon National Forest in northern Wisconsin. It was November 21, 2008 and the time was 12:10 AM, it was totally dark out and light snow was falling with an accumulation of about 1 inch covering the roads. The Temperature was 11*F and the wind was blowing from the north west with a wind chill of 0*F. We made a U turn to the left onto an unfinished ATV trail in one of our 4X4 Pickup’s heading towards last years feed pile. I got to the bottom of the hill and backed in and parked. I got out my pistol and loaded it, I then put it in my holster, I grabbed my headlight with 3 LED bulbs and secured it on my head, I handed her a shaker LED flashlight and proceeded to the back of my truck where I had a 5 gallon bucket with just under 2 gallons of corn and 3 apples in it strapped down with 2 of my ATV straps. I put the tail gate down, unstrapped the bucket and put the tail gate up. I walked around my side and then in front of the truck to her passenger side as she was putting mittens on. We both started to walk together, her just behind and to my right side when we both noticed a fresh set of tracks in the snow heading down wind of us in the same direction we where walking. At first it was not the size that caught my attention, it was “WHAT IN GOD”S CREATION MADE THESE TRACKS” immediately my skinned crawled as I looked around with my head to see if what we just had come up on was in sight. I glanced back down in disbelief at the tracks. I was in a slight stage of shock as I looked at her she looked at me and we both looked down at 4 well formed foot prints of some kind of scary tracks that either of us had ever seen before. I sized my shoe beside one of the tracks and realized it was about 3 inches longer than my shoe which measures 12 inches heel to toe, and about 1 inch wider than my shoe which measures 4 inches at it’s widest width. What ever we witnessed the foot prints of has 2 pointed talons on the end of it’s foot that are isometrically the same with a rectangle shaped heel. The talons joined on the outside and at the same length in between the talons on each foot. They are 15 inches long and 5 inches wide with 64 inch strides. I have a 36 inch stride at 5’10” tall to give an idea of the possible size of this creature, running or not we do not know. I believe we just missed seeing what caused these tracks and what ever made the tracks was still in the area and possibly watching us. My girl told me to load my pistol and keep it out, I did not argue. At first she wanted to leave right away but the sheer adrenaline and interest of what caused the tracks I believe is what kept us there. I said “ok let’s get out of here” but again, interest kept us there looking at the tracks. My fear slightly subsided enough to think about the upcoming deer opener and decided I have the pistol and we will be ok. I started to walk the same way the tracks went up a hill on the trail when I stopped and looked back at her while she was still staring down at the prints. I said “come on lets get this over with” she caught up to me as we walked together, she said to me, “if this thing get’s a hold of me put a bullet in my head” I thought about that as we kept walking. We went deep into the woods down a steep hill where I new the feed pile was from last year. We got to where I wanted the pile to be, I took the lid off the bucket and dumped the corn and apples out and stepped on the apples, I snapped the lid back on the bucket and said “let’s go” We started to climb the hill when I realized we where off track and had to walk left to reach the trail to get back to the truck. I started to think that this was the scariest thing I have ever encountered and felt panic over coming me. I new where I was and finally we got back on the trail and walked down to where we could see the tracks of the creature again. We both stared at them for about 5 minutes. When we got back to the truck just 20 yards from the prints, she got in and closed her door. I went behind the truck, opened the tail gate and re strapped the bucket down and closed the tail gate. I got to my side of the truck and took the clip out of my gun and got in. I threw my head light off my head as we drove away thinking and then I said, “I am not coming back here” and she agreed. We where both scared and could not believe what just happened.
    It was a month earlier and 1.1 miles walking through the woods from where we witnessed the tracks that a different friend and I where camping. I went to bed early and fell into a deep sleep. I woke up to the sound of my friend walking behind the tent and my first reply was “what are you doing back there?” I woke up a little more and realized my friend was sleeping, breathing kind of loud next to me. I sat up against my gear and grabbed my pistol and flash light and sat there cold and scared in the dark. I woke my friend up and told him what I could hear and he said “ah it was probably a deer or something” The temperature was around 26*F. I looked out the flaps of the tent and could see the fire had died down and it was dark out there. I stood up and told my friend that I was going to the truck to warm up and get some sleep. I asked him if he wanted me to leave the pistol and he said “no I’ll be alright”. I left the tent and walked to my truck about 80 yards away and started it up to get warm. I turned my lights on a few different times to see if what had walked by the tent was in sight. I did not see anything, I turned my truck off and fell asleep. What ever walked by the tent was bi pedal and made 2 steps into my sound range and out again. I did not hear any other noise from what ever walked by. I looked around the next morning for foot prints but leaves covered the ground and I did not detect anything. A little more than 2 years earlier. It was summer and I was at this same location riding my ATV alone, I stopped and got off walking down to a near by lake and was looking at the water and how clear it is when I could hear up on the hill above the camp ground we had stayed at a huge tree snap and hit the ground with a big thump as branches snapped off it and other trees as it fell. I got back to my ATV quickly at the time thinking a bear or buck was up there and I was not sticking around to find out. 2 months later that summer I returned to this spot again riding my ATV, I shut off the wheeler and stood around close by thinking about the last time I was there I was scared off by something. I was there about 5 minutes when all of a sudden I could hear branches snapping off of trees as what ever was breaking branches was coming down the hill closer to where I was. I got on my wheeler never to return until my friend and I camped there a little over 2 years later in October. My first 2 experiences with this creature while I was alone made me think it was possibly a bear or a buck deer, trouble with this theory is that I have come up on bear a dozen or so times and every time, the bear is running as fast as it can in another direction and what ever was making the tree sounds was not running any where. A deer also runs away at the first presence of a human. Now that we witnessed these creatures foot prints I put the puzzle pieces together and realize that this creature is living in this area and it has probably been there for a long, long, long time. I have learned it means us no harm (yet). It only makes a sound when I am alone (tree breaking). It is always down wind of me(us). It is out in the day and or night. It can see in the dark. It uses the wind to it’s advantage every chance it get’s. It can hear good. It can smell good. It waits until we are vulnerable to approach us when 2 of us are together. I possibly have smelled it and did not know that is what I was smelling. I(we) have put 4,000 miles in this forest on my Grizzly ATV through deep desolate, thick wooded, swamp, lake areas and have now proved to ourselves that this undocumented at this time creature is in fact out there. I believe this to be what the Monsterquest American Werewolf series TV show on the History Channel has shown to be the half Man-half Wolf “DOGMAN?” that others have actually witnessed. I know where this creature is living and plan on an expedition to prove it’s existence. I want to document this creature because I feel everyone that enters the forest has a right to know it is there and for other various reasons. I am open to any and all that would like to comment or ask questions in discussing my encounters with this creature(s).
    Signed, yours truly, Sure And Scared.
    I have an actual picture that I took which I discovered after writing this story that proves it to be the Wolf Man Creature(s) the MonsterQuest American Werewolf Episode.
    I do not care who believes me about the proof I have of this creature(s) existence. I know where at least one of these creatures lives. I will bring it to light very soon.

  3. benrichards87 Says:

    sureandscared

    i am an avid outdoorsman from michigan and have been reading about this dogman for years. i do believe its real and enjoyed reading your about your encounters. i was wondering if you could post the picture you took. if you dont want to release it at this time i think thats perfectly fine. i hope that i never have any encounter with this creature. even though i bowhunt in small woodlots on open farmland, its still in the back of my mind while walking to my stand before daylight. i hope that this summer you can do some more digging and shed some more light on this.

    • sureandscared Says:

      This creature is real as the goose bumps and chills I get just thinking about it. We where fishing from a canoe on the lake, I had a large mouth on my line and used my grapple hook to hold the fish and remove the hook. It was spawn season and large mouth where not keep able so I set the fish in the water just after sun down, the atmosphere was a bright pinkish orange glow when all of a sudden the creature howled. It has a deep winded siren like howl that got me and my friend heading for shore immediately. I had my 44 magnum in my bandoleer but still did not want to be on the water with the creature close by. We lit our lanterns and kept them burning bright through the night. I could hear the creature moving around the perimeter just out of sight in the darkness. The fire was burning bright and logs where snapping and popping yet I could hear the logs and twigs in the forest breaking louder than the fire from the creature moving around great distances. This creature tries to use fear factor as much as possible to make us leave. I walked with my friend to the truck, we park away from the camp site and I could hear the creature run and it went 85 -100 yards in less than 5 seconds. I talked to it and said, “I only want a picture and a hair”. I also told it I mean it no harm and I have guns because I am not sure what you will do. We got back to camp and my friend went to bed and I stayed up taking pictures. I finally retired for the night and fell asleep. During the morning hours the creature howled 2 times one right after the other. I woke and looked at my friend silently as he looked at me and we both went back to sleep. I new for months the next step was going to be the creature vocalizing and it did. I believe now since the creature knows I know it is there and did not harm it, the next step will be that it reveals itself and allows me to see it. I will stay in touch here and keep any one interested up to date. I can let you see the picture although I do not know how to post it here yet. I have not looked into this so far. Sincerely, Sureandscared

  4. quinn Says:

    I live in WI and one night before I went to bed I decided to let my dog out. As soon as I opened the door my door took off into the woods.

    After a few minuets of calling her name I wander into the woods. Once in the woods I stared to hear truck like noises coming from the highway and I saw flashing lights over the airport…pretty freaky!!!

    • sureandscared Says:

      I feel the fear you must have felt that night after reading my true story. I have tried to get some locals to go with me and they tell me I am the bravest person they have ever met and they all feel safer at home and tell me thanks but no thanks. This creature I do not believe is allowed to touch us humans while we are alive. It will use fear as much as possible considering it’s trust or should I say dis trust in us humans after what we have done to the forest and in this case all the giant old growth Hemlocks are gone. It has every reason to not trust us and how dare us to cut all the old growth down. The desolate forest are possibly its only means of survival. I pick up litter and leave tobacco offerings after a friend of mine thought this would allow the creature to trust me more. I am very open minded and always am interested in any feedback believers or not. I am here and will update as new evidence comes in. This creature has been around for eons and it will probably be for many many more. Sincerely, Sureandscared

  5. sureandscared Says:

    I was camping in the same location in June 09 and the creature vocalized 3 different times.

  6. Carycomic Says:

    I wasn’t making light of those who have actually sighted this creature. I was polking fun at Syfy Channel for the low-budget Saturday night movie they so _very loosely_ based on said sightings!

    • Sureandscared Says:

      Carycomic, I apologize for being so serious in my reply, lol. I think what you typed is hilarious for the start of the blog.

  7. Carycomic Says:

    In that case, I’m curious. What would be your Top 10 favorite werewolf movies?

    Mine would be:

    1. “Wolf Man” w/Lon Chaney, Jr.

    2. “Wolfen” w/Albert Finney

    3. “Dog Soldiers” w/Sean Pertwee

    4. “Underworld” w/Kate Beckinsale

    5. “The Beast Must Die” w/Calvin Lockhart

    6. “Werewolf of London” w/Henry Hull

    7. “American Werewolf In London” w/David Naughton

    8. “Curse of the Werewolf” w/Oliver Reed

    9. “Cursed” w/Cristina Ricci

    10. “Howling” w/Dee Wallace Stone


  8. I watched American Werewolf In London and it is in my opinion somewhat funny and has a halfway decent story line. David Naughton who stars in the show is my 2nd cousin through one of my sisters in-laws. When a man changes to a wolf it kind of steers me the other way now that I know the Dogman is real. The new movies coming out involving wolf creatures have a similar likeness to the actual Dogman himself. The Creature I have a picture of seems similar to the 1st of 3 variables Monster Quest American Werewolf Episode shows that people claim to have witnessed. Here is a link that once you join the free website using a simple user name and email address, allows you to see the picture I have of the real Dogman.

    http://pathwaysinlight.ning.com/profile/sureandscared


  9. You ask me what my favorite top 10 werewolf movies would be, I apologize not to seem rude. I have never watched that many werewolf movies and remembered the names of them if I did see 10. It impresses me that you have seen that many and know the names. So to sum things up, I have been scared off 3 times by this Dogman when I was alone in it’s domain. It showed me it’s portal. I have a picture of the creature from the morning after it walked into our dark cold campsite the night before and had listened to 2 foot steps in a bi-pedal walking position that woke me up. I witnessed it’s fresh foot prints in snow. I listened and confirmed it’s vocalizations. I did here how fast the Dogman runs on 2 legs at a great distance in a very short amount of time. Now I believe it will get close and allow me to see it and allow me a close up picture that is much better to see than my current photo which in my opinion is remarkable considering how elusive this creature is. It has yellow eyes, it stands around 9 feet tall, it has shoulders that are 3 axe handles wide, it has huge muscles all over it’s body, it can see in complete darkness, I believe it is inter-dimensional, a bee has 1 dimension, we humans have 3 and I believe this creature has 5. It’s feet are 14.5″L X 4.5″W with pointed toe like talons, it’s strides are 64 inches (mine are 36″ at 5’10”)I know more about this creature and will be sharing it in my book I am currently writing. Chat later on this when I have new evidence. I will be adding all the pictures and recording I have of this Dogman to the site I introduced everyone too. Until next time.


  10. I should put approximate foot size of this creature the Dogman. I never had a tape measure with me when we witnessed the foot prints in the snow. I got home and measured my shoe to be 12″ Length X 4″ width so I added the 3 inches longer and 1 inch wider it looked like to me it seemed to be at the site. My best recognition would be 15″L X 5″W Close Approximate. I stand corrected.

  11. andyalpha Says:

    Hey im a wisconsin hunter with similar expirences as well i want to see if weve seen the same thing but that link is invitation only ? Can you send me one?

  12. sureandscared Says:

    When I hold the artist rendition (intro picture above to this blog)of the Wisconsin Dogman created from credited eye witness accounts next to the picture I took of the same creature, it proves with out any doubt this Dogman’s existence. I have witnessed fresh tracks in the snow from this creature, I have the picture of the creature, I have listened to it vocalize and have a recording of the creature and what it sounds like for others to hear. Other people with me as witnesses also know of this creatures existence. It is so easy to be a member where I have the picture showing. A simple user name and pass word including a valid email.

  13. sureandscared Says:

    I need your email to send an invitation, then I can just email you the picture and vocalization?

  14. Bill Wilson Says:

    I have property up there and you hear plenty of wild noises at night and daytime but one day the DNR warden was over talking about some things I wanted to do on my property, maybe around 10:30 am or so when from accross the road in the woods was a vocalization that got my attention and he spun around and said( what the hell was that?) I never heard it before but have heard what sounded kinda the same off and on the last year or so. It could be anything I guess all animals have different tones but like with wolves and coyotes, birds ect. they usually are able to be determined and when you hear them alot like myself and the warden this sound is really different. Anyone who spends any time in this area and travels threw the woods can see the endless thick forest and lack of human contact that a creeature could have if it wanted to. Im not saying to believe 100% but I sure would not say its not possible. Plenty of the locals believe sometimes I just laugh but when you walk to your deer stand it crosses your mind.

  15. Robert Bayne Says:

    I took the Dogmans 15 inch foot length and measured up the creatures body in my pictures and it is seven and a half feet tall not 9 feet tall like I mentioned in my blogging above. Also I found there to be more pictures also then the one I thought was all I had of this Dogman. I am going to get the scat from this once the weather warms this season.

  16. Robert Bayne Says:

    sure & scared is my username here & how I feel & now my real life name appears coming from facebook


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

